Board Members

Chair of the APCC - Mark Burns-Williamson PCC for West Yorkshire

Mark was elected as West Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner in 2012 and re-elected with an increased majority in 2016. He is Chair of the West Yorkshire Local Criminal Justice Board (LCJB) and leads nationally for PCCs on the forensics, police aviation, ANPR and modern slavery/human trafficking portfolios, helping to establish and launch the National Anti-Slavery & Modern Slavery Network (NATMSN) in Jan 2016 which he chairs.

Prior to his election as PCC, Mark was a district councillor representing the Castleford Central & Glasshoughton Ward for 15 years as part of Wakefield Council. He became a member of the West Yorkshire Police Authority in 1999 and was elected Chair of the Authority in 2003 through to 2012.

He was also elected Chair of the National Association of Police Authorities (APA) in 2011 where he was instrumental in enabling the transition to the formation of the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners (APCC). He was honoured to receive an OBE from the Queen in 2011 for services to the community.

Roger Hirst PFCC for Essex

Roger Hirst was elected as Police and Crime Commissioner for Essex on 5 May 2016.

Roger was a Cabinet Member for Essex County Council, and Deputy Leader of Brentwood Borough Council, until he stood down to focus on the PCC campaign. He has over thirty years experience as a leading financial analyst in the City, having run the European investment research divisions of a major UK European and US international banks. 

Cllr Simon Duckworth

Simon Duckworth has been an elected City Councillor since 2000. A Member of the City of London’s Police Committee, the police governing body for the City of London Police, since 2002, he completed a four-year term as chairman of the committee in April 2012 and currently serves as both its deputy chairman and as chairman of the City's Economic Crime Board. Simon was the City of London's representative to the APA for matters of specialist and strategic policing. 

Actively involved in the Association of Police Authorities’ (APA) since 2006, Simon served on the APA's Board of Directors and the APA’s Strategic Policing and Police Authority Reform Groups. Simon was Chairman of the National Olympics Security Oversight Group, with a seat on the Home Office’s Olympic Security Board. He sits on both the Home Office’s National Crime Agency Programme Board and its Economic Crime Co-ordination Board, and is also a non-executive director of the Serious Fraud Office (SFO).

Martin Surl PCC for Gloucestershire

Martin Surl was elected as the first Police and Crime Commissioner for Gloucestershire on 15 November 2012. 

As a former senior police officer, Martin worked in policing and crime reduction across the county and in other parts of the UK for the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO), which is now the National Police Chiefs’ Council (NPCC). For more than 10 years Martin worked with Estonia to help it modernise its police service and develop its crime reduction partnerships. He was an advisor to the European Union and advised the Estonian Government on how it should prepare for EU membership in the field of crime reduction.

Jeff Cuthbert PCC for Gwent

Jeff Cuthbert was elected as the Police and Crime Commissioner for Gwent in May 2016 after standing down as the Welsh Assembly Member for Caerphilly 

After a successful career as an engineer, Jeff went on to work in education, before being elected to the National Assembly for Wales in 2003. In the Assembly he served as Deputy Minister for Skills (2011-2013, with the Technology brief added in 2013) and then Minister for Communities and Tackling Poverty (2013-2014), in which role he introduced the Wellbeing of Future Generations (Wales) Act.

Jeff previously chaired the Welsh Assembly's Committee on Standards of Conduct, and was a member of the Enterprise and Business Committee and the Environment and Sustainability Committee. 

Julia Mulligan PFCC for North Yorkshire

Julia Mulligan was elected as the first Police and Crime Commissioner for North Yorkshire on 15 November 2012. 

Julia’s career began in the car industry in Leeds; she then moved to London for a number of years where she led, planned and managed a wide variety of projects on behalf of commercial and public sector organisations. These included McKinsey & Company, the NHS, Department of Health, Department of Trade and Industry, Ford Motor Company and Telstra Telecommunications (the equivalent of BT in Australia).

Arfon Jones PCC for North Wales

Arfon Jones was elected the Police and Crime Commissioner for north Wales on 5 May 2016. 

Arfon Jones is originally from Harlech and now lives in Gwersyllt, Wrexham with his wife Gwenfair. They have two daughters and four grandchildren.

Arfon was previously a councillor for Wrexham Council for the Gwersyllt West ward but stepped down in May 2017, he continues to be a member of the Gwersyllt Community Council.

Arfon had a successful career with North Wales Police from 1978 to 2008 and retired in the rank of Inspector.